Conscious Planet
Achieve Optimal Health, Wealth, Fitness, and Consciousness

Baking Soda as a Natural Deodorant

– The most eco-friendly and affordable solution –

Many people (including myself) had a hard time finding a natural deodorant without aluminum, that is effective for the whole day.

As a Martial Artist and Dancer with my Stunt and Gymnastics training, and Belly Dance rehearsals, I really appreciate a good deodorant, especially now with the hot weather.

I finally can say I found the most effective deodorant I ever tried and it was always right there, so close… in the kitchen…. BAKING SODA!!!!

Just dissolve it into water in the right amount so the liquid feels slippery, and then apply it on your skin.  You will be impressed 🙂

Remember, baking soda, which is sodium bicarbonate (not baking powder).

And let me know how you like it!  I look forward to hear from your experience!!!

Victoria Vives Khuong
http://3vprototype.com
http://www.myspace.com/victoriavivesfuego

RELATED LINKS:

Baking Soda Deodorant on Tender Skin: http://conscious…-precautions
61 Uses for Baking Soda: http://www.bellybytes….bakingsoda.shtml

11 Responses to “Baking Soda as a Natural Deodorant”

  1. Baking soda rocks!

  2. I was tired of looking for a good deodorant that didn’t involve any animal testing at all, and that was aluminium-free… They all worsened the B.O., it was awful ! And i don’t really sweat a lot…
    Today was my first try of baking soda as a deodorant, and I’m stunned. It works great, and today is one of those damp, thunderstormy days… I’ll keep testing it, but it’s already waaaay better than the 10 € deodorant I bought last week.

  3. Hi Carol!

    I am so happy that baking soda is working for you 🙂
    Thank you for your kind comment.

    Have a great weekend!!! Victoria

  4. Well i havnt tried it yet, i guess i will though, it sounds a bit bizarre but i’ll give it a try and tell you.

  5. Sounds great Emma! Please also review “Baking Soda Deodorant on Tender Skin”:

    https://consciousplanet.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/bakin-soda-tender-skin-burn-precautions/

    Victoria

  6. Wel, I tried it myself, but didn’t dilute it…just added it to my natural deodorant…..and got a really bad burn…all raised and painful/ Any antidote that you know? I’ve reied fresh aloe vera, but not working. It did help with the odor tho!
    Thnax for ant help.

  7. Hi Baji! Thank you for your comment 🙂

    Please review “Baking Soda Deodorant on Tender Skin”:

    https://consciousplanet.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/bakin-soda-tender-skin-burn-precautions/

    I would advice to mix the baking soda with water.

    I sometimes had to use it alternating with another deodorant, every other day, when my skin was tender.

    Wish this help!

    Have a great week!

    Victoria

  8. After a few days, baking soda gave me a mild rash. Now I mix it with cornstarch, about four parts to one part baking soda and apply it as a powder.

    It keeps me nice and fresh all day, even when I work out. It’s also a good foot powder.

  9. The baking soda works great! I also use it for brushing my teeth. Keeps ’em pearly white.

    Other tricks for avoiding B.O.:

    1. Wear Merino wool base layer against your skin. Bacteria can’t propagate in wool as they can in cotton and synthetic fibers. These base layers are expensive, but they don’t itch and needn’t be washed anywhere near as often as other fabrics, saving you $ on water and soap, which is also good for the environment.

    2. Keep those underarm hairs well trimmed (guys too)!

    3. An occasional wipe of the underarms with a washcloth dipped in alcohol will kill odor-causing bacteria.

    Regards,

  10. I have been using baking powder for over two weeks now. I use it as a powder and it’s powerful, I’m a burn victim so I sweat harder in the heat I don’t have sweat glands on my grafted skin. Deodorants of all types have failed me, baking soda is the way to go. I’m very active I run and it’s still good at the end of the day.


Leave a Reply

